Photo by Shawn Linenberger. Enlarge the photo.

Members of the Southern Leavenworth County 2021-22 Leadership Class gather for a May 4 graduation luncheon at 304 Venue in Tonganoxie. Pictured, from left holding the LSLC banner, are Kathleen Hoang, Julia Nuaman, Hattie Baldock, Alexa Davis and Jake Kowalewski; behind the row of banners, left from behind Hoang, are Breanna Morey, John McEvoy, Brady Adams, Krystal Wade, Zachary Brummer, Josh Patzwald and Chad Oehlert directly behind Kowalewski). Caden Phillips is not in the photo.

Southern Leavenworth County’s latest class of graduates was recently celebrated.

This year’s Class of 13 was honored at a May 4 luncheon at 304 Venue in Tonganoxie.

Leadership Southern Leavenworth County is accepting students for 2022-23. Classes start in September. To learn more, visit the LSLC’s Facebook page or email [email protected]

Monthly classes begin in September and end with presentations of group projects in April; the graduation lunch is in May. Sessions will be held at various LvCo offices and schools, in Lawrence (Dole Institute of Politics) and Topeka (Statehouse, Brown v. Board site).

The guest speaker at the graduation luncheon was Captain James Anguiano of the Washburn University Police Department. Anguiano retired from KU Public Safety after 30 years on the University of Kansas campus — 17 as a captain — before taking his current position at WU in Topeka.

LSLC Chairman of the Board, Shawn Linenberger, delivered a keynote address at the event. Graduates and guests also heard from class member Alexa Davis, who was voted this year’s Outstanding Leader by her classmates. This year’s graduation was Star Wars-themed on May 4.

The students were divided into volunteer project groups at the start of this year’s term. The students selected four projects and then presented their projects during the April session.

Alexa Davis, winner of this year's Outstanding Leader Award, also delivers remarks.

Alexa Davis, winner of this year’s Outstanding Leader Award, also delivers remarks.

Class projects this year were an educational video on the dangers of drug addiction, a raffle for a high school scholarship, a brochure of various resources in Leavenworth County, and aid to the Good Shepherd Thrift Store and the food bank.

Board member Paul Bush described each of the projects and then presented the Outstanding Project Award to the resource brochure group.

Guest speaker Capt. James Anguiano, Washburn University Police Department, speaks with LSLC students and guests over lunch.

Guest speaker Capt. James Anguiano, Washburn University Police Department, speaks with LSLC students and guests over lunch.

This year’s graduates were Brady Adams, Tonganoxia Police; Hattie Baldock, Tonganoxie High School; Zachary Brummer, Savings Mutual, Tonganoxia; Alexa Davis, Basehor Community Library; Kathleen Hoang, Lansing High School; Jakob Kowalewski, City of Lansing; John McEvoy, Tonganoxie Police; Breanna Morey, Basehor-Linwood High School; Julia Nauman, Lansing High School; Chad Oehlert, First State Bank and Trust, Tonganoxia; Josh Patzwald, Leavenworth County Sheriff’s Office; Caden Phillips, Tonganoxie High School; and Krystal Wade, First State Bank and Trust, Tonganoxia.

Leadership Southern Leavenworth County dates back to the early 1990s as a joint venture of the Tonganoxie and Basehor Chambers of Commerce. Today, the organization accepts sponsorships from local businesses and organizations. Businesses, organizations, school districts, and city governments also sponsor employees, students, and volunteers through tuition. The Tonganoxie Business Association, for example, has sponsored member employees, as have individual businesses, Leavenworth County libraries, county offices, and municipal offices.

“Tuition” for 2022-23 will remain at $200 per participant. LSLC participants range from high school juniors and seniors to retired residents. The LSLC has for many years been the only community leadership program in Kansas that includes high school students. Tonganoxie, Basehor-Linwood and Lansing High Schools are all represented.

Additionally, LSLC partners with the Kansas Leadership Center, which allows LSLC participants to take advantage of KLC training and seminars.

Board members for 2021-2022 will return to lead the 2022-23 session. Diana Weaver, Katy Torneden, Sandy Waller and Joe Byrne return with Bush and Linenberger.

Graduate Brady Adams also joined the board. The Board of Directors is made up of LSLC alumni.

For more information on how to participate in the upcoming class, visit the LSLC Facebook page or email Linenberger at [email protected]