Marathon residents will have a choice of seven candidates for city council in November, and more may be on the way. CONTRIBUTED.

Late last week, former bank manager and Marathon High School alumnus Jeff Smith signed up as a candidate for Marathon City Council. He joins a group of Marathon residents that includes Bobby Grostefon, Kevin Macaulay, Kenny Matlock, Wayne Quarberg, Robyn Still and Richard Tamborrino.

Still is the only incumbent eligible for re-election, as current board members John Bartus, Steve Cook and “Doc Dan” Zieg have reached their three-term limits. Luis Gonzalez will remain on the board until his term ends in November 2024. He is in the middle of his second term.

The 2022 election ushers in a new era in Marathon politics with the new slate of council members serving four-year terms following a city charter change that was approved in January of this year.

The three nominees with the most votes in November will be the first Marathon board members to serve the four-year terms, while the fourth-place nominee will serve the remaining two years of the seat vacated by Trevor Wofsey, who has resigned in January. His seat is currently occupied by Still.

The Monroe County Supervisor of Elections will continue to pre-register candidates throughout the summer, with the qualifying period beginning August 2 and ending August 9. Candidates can qualify in two ways: submit 63 signed petitions by noon on July 5 or pay an entry fee of $840 before the end of the qualifying period.

Candidate profiles and in-depth coverage of the race will continue this summer as the Keys Weekly Newspapers seeks to bring an informed electorate to the polls in November.

Florida-born, Ohio-raised Jason Koler is Keys Weekly’s “prettier, smarter” editor. When he’s not chasing his kids or rubbing his wife’s feet, he enjoys folding laundry and performing live experimental posts.